21 #YA Quotes

Here are some of my favorite YA quotes. If you’re looking for deep & meaningful quotes that will open doors to the true meaning of life, stop after #1!

To see more of my favorite quotes, add me on Goodreads!

1.Joey told me nothing ever goes back exactly the way it was, that things expand and contract- like breathing, but you could never fill your lungs up with the same air twice.”
Andrew Smith, Winger
First off, I adore this book. Secondly, I fucking love Joey Cosentino.
2. . . . Mind if I take the flamingo?”
It’s $2.89.”
Whoa, Darren, you drive a hard bargain. How about I’m just going to take it?”
Wendy Wunder, The Probability of Miracles
Wendy Wunder’s Probability of Miracles is downright one of the funniest books I’ve ever read. Just be forewarned, it’s also very sad.
3. “It just seems like overkill when you already have a dagger and I have superpowerful magic at my disposal.”
Superpowerful?”He stood up, a gold chain dangling from his fingers. “Let me remind you of two words, Mercer: Bad. Dog.
Rachel Hawkins, Demonglass
Another absolutely hilarious series. I’m serious. I should really devote an entire post to the Hex Hall series. On Sophie’s first day of school she managed to yell “Bad dog!” at a werewolf.
4. “You were in the equipment shed with Corn Fritter?”
Corndog,” Will, Dr. Salter, and I say simultaneously.”
Miranda Kenneally, Stealing Parker
If you haven’t picked up on it yet, I love deadpan humor.
5. “You fuck – you ate my cat!
Kendare Blake, Anna Dressed in Blood
6. “Amy, honey.” He rubbed my arm gently, as if telling me bad news. “You shouldn’t listen to me. I don’t know what the hell I’m talking about.
Rosemary Clement-Moore, Texas Gothic
Rosemary Clement-Moore also writes incredibly hilarious books.
7. “We have to make a human pyramid displaying the foundations of the Catholic Church and the most frightening aspect, according to Brother Louis, is that Thomas Mackee is holding up the pyramid which makes the whole future of the church incredibly shaky.
Melina Marchetta, Saving Francesca
Think of every immature high school boy you’ve ever met. That’s Thomas Mackee. P.S. I don’t know how Melina Marchetta perfectly blends humor with every sad feeling you’ve ever felt into one book, but she continually does it!
8. “I Spy with my little eye a hero’s heart, a heart that beats not for itself but for all humanity.
I’M NOT BEING MODEST. I JUST DIDN’T WANT TO DIE,” Ben exclaims.”
John Green, Paper Towns
When you accidentally save a van full of people…
9. “Please stop,” I said. “You’re upsetting the black Santas.”
John Green, Paper Towns
Okay I couldn’t help myself. (I don’t know how to explain this one).
10. “I had to stop sneaking around girls’ houses like some kind of dumb-ass cat burglar. Clearly it got me nowhere good.
Kieran Scott, This Is So Not Happening
There are some really great quotes in these books.
11. “God, I’ve been wanting to do that for a long time.
Really?
Oh yes. Since Kansas. At least.
Morgan Matson, Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour
Cross country road trip? Yes! A kiss at least 5 states overdue? Oh yes.
P.S. this is one of my all-time faves.
12. “So now you’ve met my mother,” I say to Jase that night, leaning back on the roof.
I sure have. That was awesome. And completely uncomfortable.”
Huntley Fitzpatrick, My Life Next Door
Another book chalk full of humor and slightly frustrating characters.
13. “My feet are always cold. I’m a vampire,” he said in a teasing voice, almost as if he was trying to chase away Holiday’s somberness. “And if I remember correctly, you complained about that last night.He slowed down and slipped his arm around Holiday.Marrying you doesn’t scare me a bit. It’s the best thing that could ever happen to me. I’d never run out on you. I’ll be the first one to the church.”
C.C. Hunter, Chosen at Nightfall
I just finished re-reading this series and is it possible for me to love Burnett Bankhead James even more?? (And sorry Burnett, but your middle name is too great not to include).
14. “You’re not hurt, are you?”
Only my delicate sensibilities.”
Rosemary Clement-Moore, Texas Gothic
15. “And I’m pretty sure that everyone in the Pacific Northwest heard Ryan Dean West shout, “YOUSTEPPEDONMYFUCKINGNUTSYOUSONOFABITCH!”
Andrew Smith, Winger
Ryan Dean West (insert heart eyed emoji here).
16. “I have friends there,” she said.
Dead friends,” he said, not happy.
Let’s not be choosy right now.”
C.C. Hunter, Chosen at Nightfall
17. “I know it looks vaguely unsanitary and potentially scandalous, Nana, but I promise that Izzy and I are only pursuing noble…pursuits. We’ve even got a chaperone! Izzy, who was that woman who went into the cave?’
I blanked, not sure how to describe Maya. I settled on, “My…also my Nana.”
Rachel Hawkins, School Spirits
18. “Whatever shall you wear?” Torin observed, propping his chin in his hand. “Let’s see, there’s the black T-shirt with black jeans. Or perhaps, if you’re going for elegance over function, you could wear the black T-shirt with black jeans. Ooh!He sat up, widening his eyes. “Do you know what would be particularly fetching? The black-
T-shirt with black jeans,” I finished for him.Hilarious.”
Rachel Hawkins, School Spirits
19. “Sophie’s here, but Elodie’s possessing her right now.”
In that case, I’ll wait out here,” he said.”
Rachel Hawkins, Spell Bound
Archer, whose ex-girlfriend Elodie, now haunts his current girlfriend Sophie. Quite the interesting development, huh?
20. “I don’t really do friends,” I told him.
Good,” he said. “I don’t want you to “do” me. We’ve established the flaws in that plan already…
Kody Keplinger, A Midsummer’s Nightmare
Two teenagers have a one night stand at a party but there’s a catch…they’re about to become step-siblings.
21. “Mom. He didn’t do drugs. I’ve told you that before. He was just weird.”
Huntley Fitzpatrick, My Life Next Door
I apologize if a lot of these were from the same book (or author) and that they’re probably all out of context. Ever the more reason to read these! If you recognized any of these let me know!
Leave a Reply

